helps you ACE the new MCAT! Start studying now.

Sign up or Log in to Clemmonsdogpark MCAT Prep.

2020 MCAT Test Dates – Plus 5 Tips for MCAT Registration

MCAT test dates - image by Clemmonsdogpark

Unlike other pre-health admissions exams like the OAT and DAT, the MCAT is not offered throughout the entire year.

The Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) selects about 20 MCAT test dates each year and they are all between the months of January through September. You will want to plan your MCAT studies according to an available MCAT test date.

In addition, the way that MCAT score release works is unique among the other pre-health exams. With the MCAT, you have to wait about a month before you get your score report.

Table of Contents

Check out these MCAT lessons. Start your online MCAT prep today with Clemmonsdogpark

2020 MCAT Test Dates & Score Release Dates

Traditionally, the MCAT has only been offered in the months of January through September.

Below, we have provided for you the MCAT test and MCAT score release dates for 2020 (and 2019, in case you missed them)!

You can expect MCAT test dates in future years to follow a similar schedule.

2020 MCAT TEST DATESSCORE RELEASE DATE
Friday, January 17, 2020Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Saturday, January 18, 2020Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Saturday, March 14, 2020Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020Friday, May 1, 2020
Saturday, April 4, 2020Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Saturday, April 25, 2020Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Saturday, May 9, 2020Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Saturday, May 16, 2020Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Saturday, June 20, 2020Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020Thursday, August 6, 2020
Saturday, July 18, 2020Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Saturday, July 21, 2020Tuesday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Saturday, August 1, 2020Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Saturday, August 8, 2020Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Saturday, August 29, 2020Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Saturday, September 12, 2020Tuesday, October 13, 2020

2019 MCAT Test Dates & Score Release Dates

2019 MCAT TEST DATESSCORE RELEASE DATE
Friday, January 18, 2019Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Saturday, January 19, 2019Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Friday, March 15, 2019Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Friday, April 5, 2019Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Saturday, April 6, 2019Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Saturday, April 13, 2019Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Saturday, May 11, 2019Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Saturday, May 18, 2019Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Thursday, May 23, 2019Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Friday, May 24, 2019Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Saturday, June 1, 2019Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Saturday, June 15, 2019Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Saturday, June 29, 2019Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Saturday, July 13, 2019Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Saturday, July 20, 2019Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Saturday, August 3, 2019Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Friday, August 9, 2019Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Saturday, August 17, 2019Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Saturday, August 31, 2019Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Saturday, September 14, 2019Tuesday, October 15, 2019

MCAT Registration Tips

    1. Register early

    Believe it or not, MCAT registration dates fill up very quickly. Most students want to take the exam at their preferred testing location on a date that works best for them. However, the closer it is to test date, the more likely it is that all of the spots at your local testing center will be filled. I once had to drive 60 miles from home just to take the MCAT!

    Registration for the MCAT is split into two phases. In October, students may begin to register for January through May test dates. June through September test dates open for registration in February. You can follow the AAMC’s page to learn the exact time when registration opens. In the past, it has opened early in the morning based on the Eastern Time Zone. To ensure that you can get the MCAT test date and testing center location you want, make sure to register as soon as possible.

    2. Keep long-term goals in mind

    When you’re picking your MCAT registration date, keep in mind that it takes about 30 days to get your scores back. So if you need to have your scores back by a certain time for your application, for instance, be sure to take score release dates into consideration.

    3. Know the deadlines

    Each MCAT registration date has associated deadlines to reschedule or cancel your registration. Know when these deadlines are and lock them into your calendar.

    4. Be prepared

    There are a few things you should do in advance to make registering for the MCAT a little bit easier. Sign up for an AAMC account, if you haven’t done so already, have your government-issued ID available (something like a driver’s license), and have your form of payment handy.

    5. Pick a date that works best for YOU

    Each student has a slightly different timeline for preparing for and taking the MCAT. If you know you need more time to prepare than your friends, then register for a later date. The goal is to take the MCAT as few times as possible, so pick an MCAT registration date that you feel will best help you achieve that goal! Also, if you’re looking for some extra help consider Clemmonsdogpark’s MCAT prep.

Which MCAT test date should I choose?

Because of the MCAT score release delay, you can see that students must take the MCAT by May if they want their application to be among the earliest reviewed by medical schools. Students that take later exams will be delayed. For example in 2020, the earliest day that a June 1st test taker could have their application reviewed is July 2nd.

To submit a complete application for medical school, you will need your MCAT score, academic transcripts, personal statement, description of activities and awards, letters of recommendation, and any additional essays required by the school.

Applications are submitted in two phases: the primary and secondary applications.

Check out these MCAT lessons. Start your online MCAT prep today with Clemmonsdogpark
  • Primary applications are completed through the American Medical College Application Service (AMCAS).

    To submit your AMCAS application, you need your personal statement, academic transcripts, and description of activities and awards. Once your primary application is submitted, it will have to be verified by the AMCAS.

  • Secondary applications will be sent out when medical schools have received your primary application. AMCAS begins transmission of verified primary applications to medical schools on the last Friday of June.

    For 2020, the AMCAS transmission date will be June 30th. This means that students that have verified primary applications by June 30th will begin receiving secondary applications on this day. If these students submit their secondary application on the same day, medical schools will begin reviewing their complete applications.

*Contributions to this article by Clemmonsdogpark blogger April.

Editor’s Note: This post was originally published in July 2016 and has been updated for freshness, accuracy, and comprehensiveness.

10 point MCAT score improvement guarantee. Start today!

Most Popular Resources

Share
Tweet
No comments yet.


Clemmonsdogpark blog comment policy: To create the best experience for our readers, we will only approve comments that are relevant to the article, general enough to be helpful to other students, concise, and well-written! 😄 Due to the high volume of comments across all of our blogs, we cannot promise that all comments will receive responses from our instructors.

We highly encourage students to help each other out and respond to other students' comments if you can!

If you are a Premium Clemmonsdogpark student and would like more personalized service from our instructors, you can use the Help tab on the Clemmonsdogpark dashboard. Thanks!

Leave a Reply